The Nucleon 16 is a high-pivot 29er enduro bike with a mullet option in the 160 to 180 mm travel category that uses a new type of shifting technology: the Supre Drivetrain from Cedric Eveleigh’s Canada-based development company LAL BIKES. Our earlier Nucleon models, such as the Nucleon DH or the Nucleon Evo, also utilized alternative shifting concepts and combined them with a high-pivot suspension design. These bikes used a modified 14-speed ROHLOFF gearbox with the axle positioned at the level of the swingarm pivot point well above the bottom bracket. A primary drive to the gearbox and a secondary drive from the gearbox to the rear wheel were required. Suspension and shifting performance, robustness and durability of the early Nucleon bikes were excellent. However, the gearbox, including the housing and design-related additional components, caused a weight disadvantage. And even the precise, high-quality ROHLOFF transmissions never quite matched the efficiency of a derailleur system when shifted under load.

Anyone who has followed our brand over the past 25 years has probably come to a certain conclusion over time: You can recognize a Nicolai at first glance. Machine aesthetics. Form follows function. Brutal design. – So shaped one probably rubs one’s eyes at first sight of the new Nucleon 16: Extruded tube cross-sections, a head tube gusset with ports for internally routed cables, an integrated bash guard and a stylish seat tube brace with an integrated clamp. Design also seems to have played a role alongside engineering in the voluminous rear end with its wide phases and dynamic lines. Kalle Nicolai provides the following explanation: “”Life is change. Regardless of our traditions, with the Nucleon 16 we have constructed a completely new bike for a wide audience.””

The Nucleon 16 is designed as a 29er, but can also be ridden as a mullet with a 29er wheel in front and a 27.5er in the rear. The geometry is based on our Geolution Trail concept: a relatively long reach, 490 mm in size M, combined with a 78.3 ° steep seat angle provides a sporty, central riding position and an optimal load distribution between front and rear wheel. The chainstay length grows with the different frame sizes and thus ensures a good balance. The head angle of 64 ° is slightly more moderate than on the extremely flat race enduros of the NICOLAI G series. This allows for more agile handling without significantly compromising running stability and high-speed behavior. The Nucleon wants to be fun, fast and agile. Whips and scrubs are part of that. The extremely low top tube provides plenty of clearance with a standover height of 668 mm and encourages an all-action riding style. Whether enduro, all-rounder or freerider depends finally on the riders. With the Nucleon 16 in any case all gravity and speed fans will have a exceptionally potent base.

With the Supre Drive, NICOLAI can now for the first time optimally use the performance advantages of a high-pivot suspension in a long-travel enduro bike, with 1×12 setup and 510% total gear ratio. To better understand what is so ingenious about this, it is first necessary to take a look at the two key technologies in detail as well as their specific details and features.

You can find all further info about the bike in the press release below.

The Nucleon 16 is available in a wide variety of color, decals and finish options. And a large “Extra Love” palette of anodized colors allows even to customize mounted milled parts of the frame, such as rocker link, shock mount or bearing caps, to be color-matched with the anodized finish of a HOPE brake, for example.

The Nucleon 16 is available in five frame sizes from S to XXL, covering a wide range in linear, small increments. Riders between 1.64 m and 2.10 m will find a perfectly fitting frame. The extensive Tech Sheet tables in the appendix provide plenty of detailed information on this.

As usual with NICOLAI, the Nucleon 16 is available as a frameset with shock and in this case with the complete Supre Drive or as a complete bike. Using the online configurator on the NICOLAI homepage, customers can customize their desired bike or frame and choose from a wide range of options and equipment. For this purpose, NICOLAI offers exclusively high-quality components from the brands EXT, FOX, INTEND, HOPE, MAGURA, TUNE, CONTINENTAL, SCHWALBE, SHIMANO and LEVELNINE that have been tested for the particular model. On the way to your personal custom bike, our Sales Team is available to all interested riders. – With an open mind and in-depth advice.

 The Nucleon 16 is available now and can be defined individually as a complete bike and as a frame in our configurator

NUCLEON 16

Frame

Nicolai Nucleon 16

Price frame

from 3099 €

Price bike

from 7499 €

Das Nucleon 16 ist ein High-Pivot 29er Enduro mit Mullet Option in der Federwegsklasse 160 – 180 mm, bei dem eine neuartige Schaltungstechnik zum Einsatz kommt: der Supre Drivetrain der kanadischen Entwicklungsschmiede LAL BIKES von Cedric Eveleigh. Auch frühere Nucleon Modelle von NICOLAI wie das Nucleon DH oder das Nucleon Evo haben bereits auf alternative Schaltungskonzepte gesetzt und mit einem High-Pivot Suspension Design kombiniert. Diese Bikes verwendeten jeweils ein modifiziertes 14 Gang ROHLOFF Getriebe, dessen Achse auf Höhe des Schwingendrehpunkts deutlich oberhalb des Tretlagers lag. Sie benötigten einen Primärantrieb hin zum Getriebe und einen Sekundärantrieb vom Getriebe zum Hinterrad. Suspension- und Schalt-Performance, Robustheit und Unempfindlichkeit der frühen Nucleon Bikes waren ausgezeichnet. Allerdings sorgte das Getriebe inklusive Gehäuse und konstruktionsbedingter, zusätzlicher Bauteile für einen Gewichtsnachteil. Und auch die präzisen, hochwertigen ROHLOFF Getriebe erreichten unter Last nie die Schaltbarkeit einer Kettenschaltung. 

Wer unsere Marke NICOLAI über die letzten 25 Jahren verfolgt hat, ist vermutlich mit der Zeit zu einigen Gewissheiten gelangt: Ein Nicolai erkennt man auf den ersten Blick. Maschinen-Ästhetik. Form follows function. Brutalo-Design. So geprägt reibt man sich beim Anblick des neuen Nucleon 16 wohl erst einmal die Augen: Extrudierte Rohrprofile, ein Steuerrohr Gusset mit Eingängen für innenverlegte Züge, eine stylische Sitzrohr-Verstrebung mit integrierter Klemme, ein integrierter Bashguard und beim voluminösen Heck mit gebrochenen Kanten und dynamischer Linienführung scheint neben dem Engineering ebenfalls das Design eine Rolle gespielt zu haben. Kalle Nicolai hat dazu folgende Erklärung: “Leben ist Veränderung. Unabhängig von unseren Traditionen haben wir mit dem Nucleon 16 ein völlig neuartiges Bike für ein breites Publikum konstruiert.”

Die Geometrie des Nucleon 16 basiert auf dem unserem Geolution Trail Konzept: Ein relativ langer Reach, 490 mm in Größe M, sorgt in Kombination mit einem 78,3° steilen Sitzwinkel für eine sportliche, zentrale Sitzposition und eine optimale Druckverteilung zwischen Vorder- und Hinterrad. Die Kettenstrebenlänge wächst bei den unterschiedlichen Rahmengrößen mit und sorgt somit für gute Balance. Der Lenkwinkel fällt mit 64° etwas moderater aus als bei den extrem flachen Race Enduros der NICOLAI G-Serie. So wird ein agileres Handling möglich, ohne die Laufruhe oder das High-Speed Potenzial signifikant einzuschränken. Das Nucleon will Spaß machen, schnell und wendig sein. Whips und Scrubs gehören dazu. Das extrem tiefe Oberrohr bietet mit einer Überstandshöhe von nur 668 mm massig Bewegungsfreiheit und animiert zu einer Action orientierten Fahrweise. Ob Enduro, Allrounder oder Freerider entscheiden letztendlich die Fahrerinnen und Fahrer. Mit dem Nucleon 16 bieten wir allen Gravity und Speed Fans eine ausgesprochen potente Basis an.

Und mit dem Supre Drive können wir nun erstmals die Performance Vorteile eines High-Pivot Fahrwerks optimal in einem Long-Travel Enduro Bike nutzen, mit 1×12 Setup und 510% Gesamtübersetzung. Um besser zu verstehen, was das Geniale daran ist, hilft ein näherer Blick auf die beiden Schlüsseltechnologien, ihre Details und Besonderheiten.

Alle weiteren Infos zum Bike findest du in der Pressemitteilung weiter unten.

Das Nucleon 16 ist in einer Vielzahl von Farben, Dekor- und Finish-Varianten erhältlich. Und eine große “Extra Love” Palette an Eloxalfarben erlaubt es, auch einzelne montierte Frästeile des Rahmens wie den Umlenkhebel, die Dämpferaufnahme oder die Lagerdeckel farblich so abzustimmen, dass sie zum Beispiel mit dem Eloxalton einer HOPE Bremse harmonieren.

Das Nucleon 16 ist in fünf Rahmengrößen von S bis XXL erhältlich und deckt damit einen großen Bereich in linearen, kleinen Abstufungen ab. Fahrerinnen und Fahrer zwischen 1,64 m und 2,10 m finden hier einen perfekt passenden Rahmen. Die umfangreichen Tech Sheet Tabellen im Anhang geben hierzu umfassend Auskunft.

Das Nucleon 16 ist, wie bei NICOLAI üblich, als Rahmenset mit Dämpfer – in diesem Fall auch inklusive des kompletten Supre Antriebs – oder als Komplettrad erhältlich. Über den Online Konfigurator auf der NICOLAI Homepage können Kundinnen und Kunden ihr Wunschbike oder ihren Rahmen individuell zusammenstellen und dabei aus einer Vielzahl von Optionen und Ausstattungen wählen. NICOLAI bietet hierzu hochwertige und für das Modell erprobte Komponenten der Marken EXT, FOX, INTEND, HOPE, MAGURA, TUNE, CONTINENTAL, SCHWALBE, SHIMANO und LEVELNINE an. Auf dem Weg zum persönlichen Custom Bike steht das NICOLAI Sales Team allen Interessierten mit einer umfassenden Beratung zur Seite.

Das Bike ist ab sofort bestellbar und wird ab Dezember 2022 ausgeliefert. Der Preis für den Rahmen ohne Schaltung und ohne Dämpfer betragt 3099 €. Komplettbikes sind ab 7499 € verfügbar.

INTERESSE ?

Dann schick uns einfach das ausgefüllte Formular

  • Kontaktdaten

NUCLEON 16

Rahmen

Nicolai Nucleon 16

Preis Rahmen

ab 3099 €

Preis Komplettbike

ab 7499 €