THAT`S US - NICOLAI BICYCLES

NICOLAI-Bikes is located in Lübbrechtsen, which is basically in the middle of nowhere in northern Germany. NICOLAIs headquater is an old farm building from the 19 th century. In these quiet athmosphere some of the best bike frames in the world are made. NICOLAI focuses on craftmanship, excellant welding quality and the love for the little details. 100 % made in QLF-tal. 100 % made in Germany. Twenty years ago,Karlheinz Nicolai, called Kalle, let his dream come true, to build up a bicycle factory. He started in a garage in collaboration with two hired welders. Since this point in time NICOLAI grew up to 25 people.

WHY WE LOVE WHAT WE DO

All NICOLAI frames are handmade. Every single one is unique and customized, The customer can choose for the frame size and the colour of every single frame part. NICOLAI frames are developed in Lübbrechtsen. We are more than happy to show you around.

REAL NICOLAI

The dictionary says: authenticity or to be „real“ is the degree of matching between a fact and its presentation. If the presentation is truer, then it more precisely reflects the fact. I believe that our customers recognize this „realness“ of our products and therefore go for a Nicolai bike. The fact that all of our bicycle frames down to the smallest parts are manufactured inside our factory is very important to us. This is not a religion, it is important because we can rapidly transfer the results of our riding tests into the new bikes and adjust products for our customers. True to the motto „100 % made in QLF „, we can ensure that all the components meet our high standards.

We have grown into an endangered species ….we perform turning, milling , welding, grinding, straightening, heat treating , coating and assembly in a single place from A to Z. From early calculations to final biking. Of course I often have to listen to some people saying I could earn a lot more money if I used outsource parts. I believe, however, that our customers have a sense of whether a product is „real“ and therefore I stick faithfully to this authenticity principle. Additionally I would like to ask for your understanding that we have cut off some old models and have replaced them with bikes that are just simply better.

We have been in the „Külftal“ (abbreviation QLF-valley) for over 18 years and continue to expand our capabilities here to remain „real“ into the future. I am proud and convinced that the bikes presented of this website are among the best in the world.

Yours Kalle

THE PROCESS

NICOLAI has the entire value chain required to manufacture a high-end mountain bike. All processes are carried out in-house, from engineering and the development of first prototypes to the finished bike.

DEVELOPMENT

Each NICOLAI frame is developed in Lübbrechtsen. The complete production process of constructing, building prototypes and testing takes place here. While developing, we use the feedback of our team riders and customers as well as our own experiences as active bikers. Our goal is simply defined: Best function, best resistance and the best reliability to make good bikes even better.

MILLING

Every single part of our frames is build in-house. Tubes are hand-cutted, shock levers, cable guide built kids and other details get milled by our CNC machines. Because of this procedure, we are able to achieve and guarantee our high quality standards.

WELDING

One of our trademarks are weldseams. Every weldseam is result of in years made experiences through the welding process, which guarantees a stable connection between the different parts.

STRAIGHTENING

During the milling process the frame gets straighten several times. Before the heat treatment is started, the final frame straightening takes place.

COATING

Our frames get powder coated or anodized. 33 different colours are available. Each part of the frame can be coloured after customer demands. The powder coating process takes place here. It is possible to order a frame in camouflage. Therefore three different colous of powder coats are used. The anodization is done by one of our long life relationship partners.

PREPARATION FOR ASSEMBLY

After the coating process, the powder coat or anodization is removed from the places where to mill the bearing holes. This process allows us to deliver an optimal function and resistance.

The Team

Kalle Nicolai

CEO

Philipp Hildebrand

Engineering / Tailor Made

Vincent Stoyhe

Head of Sales

Räto Holewa

Sales

Max Weigmann

Sales / Custom Frames

Volker Johst

After Sales / Service

Liane Piepho

Assistant to the Management

Jens Miller

Ingenieur / Tailor Made

Markus Schmidt

Operations Manager

Stefan Wickenhäuser

CNC-Production / Manager Industrial Engineering

Claus Papendorf

Assembly Manager

Daniel Jahn

Factory Racer / Assembly

Christian Koch

Powder Coating and Assembly

Bjarne Plate

Apprentice

Sascha Kanne

Welder

Torsten Knoke

Welder

Daniel Trantow

CNC-tube-cutting

Christian Suhrly

CNC-Production

Michael Petzold

Warehousing / Assembly

DAS SIND WIR - NICOLAI BICYCLES

Unser Firmensitz befindet sich im beschaulichen Lübbrechtsen, eingebettet in Felder, Wiesen und Berge. Ein umgebautes Bauernhaus des 19. Jahrhunderts ist unsere Schaltzentrale. In unscheinbarer Atmosphäre, mit Detailversessenheit, hoher Handwerks- und Schweißkunst, der Erfahrung leidenschaftlicher Biker sowie der gewissen Extra Liebe bauen wir hier einige der besten Bike-Rahmen der Welt. 100 % made in QLF-tal. 100 % made in Germany. Vor über 20 Jahren erfüllt sich Karlheinz Nicolai (Kalle) seinen Traum vom eigenen Mountainbike-Unternehmen und gründet NICOLAI. Mit zwei Schweißern in einer Garage, startet er die Rahmenfertigung. Seit dem ist NICOLAI auf über 25 Mitarbeiter gewachsen.

WHY WE LOVE WHAT WE DO

Alle NICOLAI- Rahmen sind handgemacht. Jeder Einzelne ist ein Unikat und auf spezifischen Kundenwunsch gefertigt. Die Rahmengröße und die Farbe der Bauteile können frei gewählt werden. Neben der Herstellung werden auch alle NICOLAI Rahmen hier in Lübbrechtsen entwickelt. Wir freuen uns dich, hier bei uns, zu einer kleinen Firmenführung begrüßen zu dürfen!

ECHT NICOLAI

Das Lexikon sagt „Die Echtheit ist der Grad der Übereinstimmung zwischen einer Tatsache und deren Darstellung. Die Darstellung ist umso echter, je genauer sie die Tatsache widerspiegelt.“ Ich glaube, dass unsere Kunden die „Echtheit“ unserer Produkte erkennen und sich deswegen für ein Nicolai Bike entscheiden. Wir legen sehr viel Wert auf die Tatsache, dass alle unsere Fahrradrahmen bis zum kleinsten Einzelteil in unserem Hause hergestellt werden. Das ist kein Selbstzweck, denn wir können sehr schnell die Ergebnisse unserer Fahrerprobungen in neue Bikes umsetzen und uns auf die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden einstellen. Getreu dem Motto „100% made in QLF“ können wir sicherstellen, dass alle Bauteile unseren hohen Ansprüchen genügen.

Wir sind weltweit zu der seltenen Spezies herangewachsen, die von CAD Zeichnungen, Berechnungen, Drehen, Fräsen, Schweißen, Reiben, Richten, Wärmebehandeln, Beschichten und Montieren bis hin zum kompletten Bike alle Tätigkeiten an einem Ort durchführt. Natürlich muss ich mir von einigen Leuten anhören, ich könnte doch sehr viel mehr Geld verdienen, wenn ich die Produkte durch andere billiger herstellen lassen würde. Ich glaube jedoch, dass die Kundschaft ein Gespür dafür hat, wie „echt“ ein Produkt tatsächlich ist und bleibe deswegen meinem Echtheitsgrundsatz treu. Ebenfalls möchte ich um Verständnis dafür bitten, dass wir einige alte Modell-Zöpfe abgeschnitten haben und durch Bikes ersetzt haben, die einfach noch besser sind.

Über 18 Jahre lang haben wir hier im „Külftal“ (Abkürzung QLF-tal) unsere Fähigkeiten immer weiter ausgebaut, um auch in Zukunft „echt“ zu bleiben. Ich bin sicher, dass die Bikes, die wir mit Stolz mit dieser Website vorstellen möchten, zu den Besten der Welt gehören.

Euer Kalle

THE PROCESS

NICOLAI verfügt über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette, die es braucht, um ein High-End Mountainbike zu fertigen. Alle Prozesse werden inhouse bewältigt, vom Engineering, über die Entwicklung erster Prototypen, bis hin zum fertigen Bike.

ENTWICKLUNG

Jeder NICOLAI Rahmen wird in Lübbrechtsen entwickelt. Es wird konstruiert, Prototypen gebaut und getestet bis wir zufrieden sind. Dabei fließt das Feedback unserer Teamfahrer, unserer Kunden und unsere eigene Erfahrung als Biker ein. Unser Ziel ist dabei immer das gleiche: beste Funktion, Halt- barkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und Gutes besser zu machen.

FRÄSEN

Wir fertigen alle Bauteile für unsere Rahmen selbst. Vom Zuschnitt jedes Rohres, über den CNC-gefrästen Umlenkhebel bis zum Leitungshalter. So können wir optimal unsere hohen Qualitätsansprüche gewährleisten.

SCHWEISSEN

Eines unserer Markenzeichen sind unsere Schweißnähte. Jahrelange Erfahrung und handwerkliches Geschick sind dafür erforderlich. Diese Schweißnähte werden langsam gezogen, wodurch eine besonders stabile Verbindung der Rahmenbauteile entsteht.

RICHTEN

Während des Schweißens wird der Rahmen mehrmals gerichtet, um Spannungen im Rahmen zu vermeiden. Nach dem Schweißen wird der Rahmen abschließend gerichtet, bevor er wärmebehandelt wird.

BESCHICHTUNG

Unsere Rahmen werden ausschließlich mit robusten Oberflächen, wie einer Pulverbeschichtung oder Eloxal, ausgeliefert. Es stehen 33 Farben zur Auswahl. Die Farbe jedes Rahmenbauteils kann frei gewählt werden. Die Pulverbeschichtung findet bei Nicolai statt. Auf Wunsch sind auch 3-farbige Camouflagemuster möglich. Das Eloxieren geschieht extern.

VORBEREITUNG ZUR MONTAGE

Nach dem Beschichtungsprozess wird die Pulverbeschichtung oder Eloxierung von den Stellen entfernt, an denen die Lagerbohrungen gefräst werden. Dieses Verfahren ermöglicht es uns, eine optimale Funktion und Widerstandsfähigkeit zu erreichen.

Das Team

Kalle Nicolai

CEO

Philipp Hildebrand

Ingenieur / Massrahmen

Vincent Stoyhe

Head of Sales

Jochen Weller

Testride / Sales

Räto Holewa

Sales

Max Weigmann

Sales

Volker Johst

After Sales / Service

Liane Piepho

Buchhaltung

Jens Miller

Ingenieur / Massrahmen

Markus Schmidt

Betriebsleiter

Stefan Wickenhäuser

CNC-Produktion / Leiter Betriebstechnik

Claus Papendorf

Montageleitung

Daniel Jahn

Factory Racer / Montage

Bjarne Plate

Azubi

Christian Koch

Montage / Pulverbeschichtung

Sascha Kanne

Schweisser

Torsten Knoke

Schweisser

Daniel Trantow

CNC-Rohrzuschnitt

Christian Suhrly

CNC-Produktion

Michael Petzold

Lager / Montage